The World of Rockadocious

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ignition

What causes my ignition
I play hard in a world of competition
So blind to the lady in her ragged clothes
Long stringy hair – Torn panty hose
Looks like she’s had nothing to eat
Probably hasn’t had a good meal in a week
Visions like these tug to my heart
Until it pulls me straight to my start
The start that always justifies
Lack of sentiment looking into hungry eyes
Because where I stand is where I’ve earned
Lost count of all the times I’ve been burned
Don’t know how strong love can be
I’ve learned to love only me
And you ask how I can be so cold
Find the ones with portions of my soul
Last time I heard they were all scattered
If I’d of heard more, I would have mattered
It’s all ok, in my mind I’m a realist
I swallow shit hard and throw up in jest
And how much prettier does that make me seem
Surrounded by vomit while I’m walking my dream
So I force myself to toss at least a dollar
To stop that poor lady from cursin and hollerin
Walking in the streets in this cold-cold world
She looks so familiar – Oh damn…
She’s what left of my little girl

Racquel Cruz, Founder
Artist’s Square
http://www.artists-square.com
~A Place Where Artists Go~
December 12, 2009 - Posted by | Real-Life Poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

